This pond is not on my current rented property, but is nearby, on family property.  It is about 100 feet in diameter and I am featuring it because it does have an effect on the climate around here, including creating a lot of cool breezes in summer, and I’ll probably be foraging for berries around it later this year.  It used to be a cattle pond when this was all a ranch and later was deepened and the dam improved for a fish pond.  In good rain years it overflows multiple times and it is pretty awesome to watch the brown swirling water rushing into the pond and right out again.  That is some serious acre-feet that goes through there.  This year it has filled up most of the way, but not quite to overflowing, due to this being a weird La Nina year.

This picture is taken in late afternoon, standing on the dam.  The pond is surrounded by blackberry bushes, originally planted to keep predators away from ducks on the pond.  By the way, this does not work.  The bushes take a lot of up-keep and lately have been allowed to run free a bit too much, so there are some big bramble patches now.  They do produce a LOT of berries, though it’s always kind of a race to pick them before the native bees puncture them and suck the juice out.  Oh well, sharing is a good thing, right?

The other side of the pond.  The brambles on the far side are at least 15 feet thick and house many bullfrogs and small birds, as well as probably lizards and snakes.  It does not seem to be frog breeding season yet, but when I was walking around a bullfrog/Yosemite Toad (I can’t get close enough to tell the difference) would dive into the water about every three feet.  Good to know this little ecosystem still has a healthy population of amphibians.

Warm blackberries with fresh raw cream are a wonderful paleo-style treat and I have a bunch of ideas I am looking forward to trying out for other recipes. I always loved blackberry cobbler and if I find I am craving it I will eat some, paleo or no paleo, since I don’t want to torture myself, but we shall see what other creative ways there are to eat blackberries (assuming they make it in the house first!).  Now I am having visions of blackberries, warm and melting sweet, dancing in my head…

Y Girl

