I have pretty fair skin. It used to be that even in winter if I spent more than 20 minutes outside I would start to burn.  Sunscreen was not much of a help, either. When I first started researching paleo/primal lifestyles I kept seeing things about being outside and sunbathing on purpose to get vitamin D. No way, I thought, I’ll just stick with my cod liver oil.

A few weeks in, I suddenly had this urge to try it. I have NEVER sunbathed on purpose before but all of a sudden it sounded fun. This seems to happen with quite a few things since I switched… After coming across a couple more articles, I decided to give it a try. It turns out I didn’t burn anymore and I finally figured out why people enjoy sunning so much. Since then I have continued to do it judiciously and regularly.

Over the summer, I had a couple weeks where my face got dry and instead of looking at how I was not really eating enough, I thought it would be fun to try making some of the many natural moisturizer recipes out there. They do work and make your skin feel baby soft, which is great. But then, over a period of several weeks I kept having trouble with slight sunburns on only my face even though I was spending very little time outdoors and was using protective makeup when I was out. It took a ridiculously long time to realize that my skin needs about two days completely indoors if I’m going to use an oil-based moisturizer. Why bother at all, in that case? I upped my fat intake again and the original and added problems both fixed themselves. Yay!

So yeah, I FINALLY figured it out. *rolling my eyes* Lesson learned, AGAIN:  Always work on the input before the coating!

Y Girl

